The Four Rivers District was formed in 1968 when the Baltimore Area Council merged portions of the former "Francis Scott Key District" with the "Southern District" into a new Scouting service area for the northern half of Anne Arundel County (MD).

The District takes its name from the Four Rivers that make up it's boundaries, the Patuxent, the Patapsco, the Magothy, and the Severn.

Today the District provides support to more than 90 Cub Scout Packs, Scouts BSA Troops, and Venture Crews.


4R is currently bordered on the north by the Arrowhead District (Western Baltimore County), to the West by the National Pike District (Howard County) and the National Capital Area Council, to the east by the Chesapeake Bay, and to the south by the Capitol District (Annapolis and Southern AA County).  



Boy Scouts of America, Baltimore Area Council | 701 Wyman Park Drive, Baltimore MD 21211 | 443-573-2500